after the hunt

after the hunt 35"x43"

Here I am for my second blog attempt. This new month has found me committed to being here (if I let the blog down…somehow, I let myself down) .

My somewhat sane and brilliant friend Martha had constructive comments about my March Degas dancer which were to work more on the legs “They blend into the background”. I agree Mrs. Martha and will have her new legs for you soon.

There is no plan for this venue other than creating new works. Mayte suggested I keep with a theme of dancers (an idea I considered) but I saw this dog and happen to be reading ‘The art of racing in the rain’. This particular dog is a foxhound from a painting by John Emms. While changing the subject of my work… in essence I am evolving the theme from the struggles of an artist to a dog that symbolizes the adversity we endure for the finish.

John Emms was a recognized authority on dogs and could capture the tired character of a worn out foxhound as if he knew the determination of pushing through the pain (only an admiral trait…nothing I really know personally). In this piece the foxhound has a bandaged foot that has been doctored and wrapped from an injury during the hunt, much the same as a dancer would attend after pounding her feet into the floor. Each ballet dancer has her own method of wrapping her toes in band aids, adhesive tapes or lamb’s wool to prevent or protect blisters. At certain levels, an athlete cannot afford to appear weak or dispensable and oftentimes injury will go undetected. I saw a dancers foot in an old National geo and have scanned it. The photo gives a reality to the pain a dancer endures.

a page from september 1990 national geo

a page from september 1990 national geo

A sunny spotlight provides a warm place for a young dance student to limber up in a studio at the Julliard School in the Lincoln Center complex. After hours on her toes, a dancer’s foot bears testimony to the agony of practice- a price exacted of all who hope to make it to braodway.

Of course my dog here reminds me how grateful I am to have thumbs and the importance of learning to manifest the destiny before me. Quote from enzo in ‘The art of racing in the rain’, “I will often admire a beautiful sunrise, but I will never consider the sun a champion for having risen.” It is the missteps and failings that make great humans.

 
2 comments

  1. Hi Lisa

    I am so loving this blog! I know as much about art as I do about newr…nuero…
    brain surgery 🙂 But I must say getting these ‘inside’ technical nuances into style, form, depiction, etc., is totally appealing to my analytical nature.

    Please be encouraged and I look forward to the next edition!

    Blessings….
    c.


Leave a Reply

