taylor & her ukulele.

ukulele

ukulele

When I started the blog, I wasn’t sure where I was going…I only knew I had to get there.  So here I am… 2.5  years and 4 blog names later.  Change was not only the goal but inevitable.   Sometimes  I wonder why I continue to force the drawing and paint issue…”just paint or draw and and get on with it “… but there has to be a way to open this box with less resistance… to be brave and work with my mistakes and not be afraid to make them.

When it comes to figurative work, most appreciate the similitude of a portrait.  The subjects that I did last year were close and I always felt a need to make them look familiar and to write about their strength to make it all lyrical.   At this point in my quest for change, I want my drawings to become less defined with a few fresh qualities.  To be more Matisse.  “An artist should never be a prisoner of himself, prisoner of style, prisoner of reputation, prisoner of success, etc.”  Henri Matisse

matisse.musique

Musique by Matisse

Taylor has agreed to be my first experimental portrait for this new year.  She is majoring in Fine art and has focused her senior thesis on realism (she also has a strange obsession with the ukulele).  We have talked about the difficulty in letting go of classical skills to expose more of the process in our work and allow the flow of improvisation.  Most realist painters spend hours getting all shades and shadows correct.  It becomes a copy of source material.  When we copy the old masters, it’s an attempt to absorb the past but it is the responsibility of the artist to push farther and explore an emphasis of the subject.  Portions of figures and heads are often more expressive than their entirety.   As usual, in my drawing, I try to gauge the combination of pencil and paint.  I was hoping to achieve a little more ambiguity with this drawing…maybe next time.

So sad falcons…maybe next time you too.

“There’s no time limit, stop whenever you want. You can change or stay the same; there are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the courage to start all over again.” – Eric Roth, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button screenplay

Leave a Reply

